FFXIV: What is Hunting Log & How it Works?

Final Fantasy XIV‘s Hunting Log is an activity that requires player to kill a certain number of target monsters.

Playing by yourself might be a great way to get experience at lower levels.

Suppose, for the sake of argument, that you’ve just begun your journey.

Or maybe you’re beginning at square one since you’ve decided to take on a new position.

Now that the MSQ quests are all gone, you might be wondering where you might obtain the experience you need to join the Duty Finder.

Well, my friend, I have a suggestion for you.

Do you relish the prospect of taking the lives of monsters?

Do you enjoy slaying three (or more) of those monsters before moving on to a different region to kill three more?

Fortunately, you have the Hunting Log to help you out.

For doing the most basic and trivial MMO chore, you’ll be rewarded with increasingly higher tiers of experience awards.

To be honest, I’m probably not doing a great job of promoting the Hunting Log’s worth.

In the end, though, it is just what it is: a simple, effective means of acquiring knowledge and skills.

Especially when you’re advancing to a second or third job, that’s a priceless asset.

The Hunting Log can be completed for any number of reasons, and getting started is simple.

It’s likely that you already have it unlocked without even recognising it (depending on how far you are into your adventure).

The Hunting Log is a separate feature from the Hunt Marks, thus it’s crucial to point that up.

How Does The Hunting Log Work?

Hunting Log contains a list of monsters from all across the world that can only be accessed by certain professions.

And they’ve been given orders to go out and take care of business.

There’s no better time to take down these targets than while you’re levelling up your first career or an alt character!

Once you’ve completed your first class quest at level 10 on any Disciple of War or Magic, you’ll have access to the Hunting Log.

After unlocking it on one task, it will be available for all of them.

As new jobs are levelled, you’ll be able to complete entries starting at level one.

You’ll know whether a creature is in your Hunting Log because they’ll have a distinctive icon over their nameplate.

You may view what needs to be killed and where it resides by using the Hunting Log’s dedicated menu (the keyboard shortcut is “H” by default).

It’s also possible to view how much experience you gain by completing Log entries.

This experience is in addition to the EXP you get from defeating creatures.

Which Jobs Have A Hunting Log?

The Hunting Log is not available to every employee.

According to the number of occupations out there, the list is quite small:.

  1. Arcanist
  2. Archer
  3. Conjurer
  4. Lancer
  5. Marauder
  6. Pugilist
  7. Rogue
  8. Thaumaturge

Hunting Log is limited to the game’s starting classes, as you may have guessed.

When you first create your character, you have access to these basic classes, which all begin at level one.

Read Also:  FFXIV: Dragon Pepper (Locations & Uses)

All other jobs begin at a higher level and have immediate access to the Duty Finder, making the Hunting Log unnecessary for them.

What Place Does The Hunting Log Have In Leveling?

As a general rule, you should use the Hunting Log from level one to fifteen in order to gain new jobs, after which the Duty Finder is available.

Unless you have the MSQ, dungeons (including Duty Roulettes) can be an excellent way to gain experience points.

To get a lot of EXP, you can queue for these alongside completing Hunting Logs and FATEs after unlocking them.

Isn’t it a little monotonous?

Just a tad bit.

However, it’s a much more dependable and faster way to get over the first few levels than FATEs or sidequests, and it’s lot easier.

Think of it as a boring food that’s actually excellent for you.

It may not be the most appetising meal, but it will get you to your destination.

As a result, there are no particular prizes for finishing the complete Hunting Log, other for the tiniest sense of satisfaction and pride.

If that’s not your cup of tea, there’s no need to finish it all.

Quick and reliable experience can be gained by using this method of progression.

The Hunting Log Guide by Dimensional Death is a great resource if you’d like to know exactly where your targets are.

If you’re looking for specific directions, click on the link above for a map with screenshots that show you exactly where you need to go.

Other Types Of Hunting Logs

Each Grand Company (Maelstrom, Twin Adders, Immortal Flames) has their own Hunting Log you can finish, with three ranks to clear in total.

Read Also:  FFXIV: How Do You Get The Polar Bear Mount?

The Mammet minion can be obtained by completing a Grand Company Hunting Log.

Unless you’re a member of the Grand Company, you’ll be unable to complete the Hunting Log.

Rank two will become accessible following completion of the first, and accomplishment of Sergeant Third Class within the Company.

In order to progress to rank three, one must have achieved Second Lieutenant status.

In order to level up, you’ll need to complete separate entries in a Grand Company Hunting Log, which will reward you with good amount of Company Seals instead of experience.